Thatha

9th July 2013

The best word I could possibly use to describe Thatha is “Pioneer”. His life has been and will always be an inspiration to others. His teachings and accomplishments act like a spark, igniting passion in other minds to achieve their goal and to bring out the best in themselves. His presence, in person or in spirit, is a guiding force for others. I remember Thatha to be kind, cheerful, hardworking, strong and highly optimistic.

As individuals, we all touch and affect the lives of people around us in some way or the other. The smallest choices we make today might have an everlasting impact on a lot of people. Born of a humble family of traders, the most difficult decision for him must have been to choose education over village life. I really respect and admire him for encouraging the education of his siblings and for taking the initiative to give them good start in life. There is nothing any of us can do to repay him for this gift.

Grief, gratitude and remorse are the most prominent ones in the variety of emotions running through my head since I heard about his passing.  Grief, as I won’t see him again; gratitude, because he doesn’t have to suffer anymore and because he is now in a better place; and finally, remorse coz I could have spent more time with him. I take solace in the fact that I had a lot of happy memories, the most vivid ones being the Murudeshwara-Coorg trip last June.  I really enjoyed being with my grandparents. My native place is never going to be the same without him.

One of the greatest things about him was his adaptability. Besides facing all the curveballs life threw at him with a broad smile, he had a childlike curiosity to learn about the newest gadgets available. This is something very rare as I have observed that most elders are technophobes. He had the latest Apple products – be it the iPhone or the iPad, and took enough care to avoid a single scratch on them.

Before I conclude, I would like to share the most favourite memory of mine. Thatha had set up the sprinklers in the front lawn and we cousins spent quite an amount of time playing with it. This will always be one of the best moments of my childhood.

Thatha will always be the guiding light of our lives. It’s now our duty to take his legacy a step forward and take our family to the next level.

Leave a Reply

