End of an Era… Farewell ’17

19th April 2017

“I’ll be there for you…when the rain starts to pour. I’ll be there for you…like I’ve been there before. I’ll be there for you…coz you’re there for me too” sang the girls. I cheered and sang along with them the title track of F.R.I.E.N.D.S until my eyes almost welled up – although everything was just as it always had been, something had changed. My gaze shifted to my classmates sitting a couple of rows away, who were chatting and cracking jokes as they always did in class. When the band finally stopped playing, I realized that half a decade felt just as long as the snapping of fingers. The fact that the last semester of my university life was coming to an end finally sank in. The farewell celebration that my college organized for my batch was one I wouldn’t forget in a really long time – replete with endearing speech (and a slideshow of the batch’s funniest photos), beatboxing performance by a batchmate, dance tributes, and “shayri” sessions by one of our beloved professors.

The farewell was a collection of humorous incidents. The director of my course found a very interesting solution to the punctuality problems – we were asked to reach the venue by 7.15pm. For those who walked in late (presumably more than half of my batch) the dinner coupons were not distributed. We came up with a memorable solution to that – four of us ended up eating from a plate (“Jhoothe se pyaar aur badh jaata hai”)! The part that I loved the most about the farewell was the dance floor.

dance floor.jpg

The hall looked was exactly like a disco – with the strobe lights and the fog machine. I was amazed by the girls – dancing in a saree while wearing high heels is pretty much commendable. It was like a twisted Cinderella story – the DJ stopped playing as soon as the clock struck ten, and about a LOT of 20-somethings walked out dripping in sweat. My classmates enjoyed a nice photo session for the next half-hour at the entrance of the hall. The class photo was the best of them all – in addition to the liveliness and the explosion of colours, it captured beautifully the plethora of our emotions.

class

As I walked out of the hall, a number of memories flooded my mind. Five years of sitting through lectures, writing assignments, struggling with practicals and lab sessions, racking our brains hard for the mid-terms and the dreaded final exams seem to have just come to an end. And so have last moment cancellation of lectures, not-so-original presentations, the ingeniously hilarious vivas, the impromptu movies (and that crazy trip to Lonavala). Somewhere between fighting on WhatsApp groups about people going AWOL before presentations and sitting for the final placements, we grew up. We walk out with our heads held high, and an undefinable bond joining us. As one of my close friends rightly pointed out – although this farewell may take us apart, we stubborn rascals will do everything to keep things from falling apart.

2 thoughts on “End of an Era… Farewell ’17

  1. Hi,

    Hope you had a great farewell. This is one of the best moments of your life. Be in touch with your college mates and relive the moments. Now you are getting into second phase of the life “The Corporate Life”. Wish you all the best.

    May all your dreams come true.

    Regards,

    Pranam

    Like

Leave a Reply

