Highlights of 2021

I consider each year as a teacher who helps me learn and grow. While most of my teachers have been lenient in their approach, the past couple ones have been rather stern, forcing me to grow in ways that I hadn’t expected or imagined. However, having been through the journey, I find myself filled with gratitude. Here are a few things I am grateful for.

  • My parents: For all their unending love and support through every phase of my life.
  • Vinuta Aunty and Amma’s persistence: They inspired me to leave my comfort zone and motivated me to take risks and chart my course (quite literally) in a new direction.
  • My privilege: Having lived with my family through the pandemic in a lovely home, I realize the extent of my privilege. We remained healthy through the pandemic and had more than enough for our needs. What more can one possibly wish for?
  • My job at Axis Bank: I got the privilege to work with an amazing team over the course of a year and a half. I find myself grateful for opportunities to learn and contribute in a variety of areas through the pandemic. I realize I have really grown as a person in this time.
  • The short trip to Coorg before the second wave of the pandemic: It will remain one of the best moments in the beginning of the year – a lovely road trip with my parents to the land where the colors seem brighter, the air fresher and the coffee stronger. Spending time with my uncles and aunts and seeing them enjoy moments like kids again was a priceless experience – something that I will always cherish!
  • The roller-coaster called university admissions: Investing weeks of introspection to come up with the best essay possible, checking mail every morning to see if there were any mails from the universities I had applied to, waiting with bated breath as the letter loaded, and finally the rush of emotions on seeing the result. It has not been easy – but I wouldn’t have it any other way!
  • Getting accepted into the University of Texas at Austin’s MS program: That was the highlight of the 5th of March weekend. Getting accepted after facing a couple of rejections is an otherworldly feeling! The only part I didn’t enjoy much was the MMR vaccinations (for the second time) as I didn’t have my vaccination records.
  • Friendships: Letting go of some bonds, strengthening a few and forging some more – the pandemic has strengthened me as a person. Although most of them worked out in my favor, I realized once again that it’s best to let some of them go.
  • My Amma: The woman who has the ability to turn seemingly uninteresting lockdown birthdays into cherished memories. It felt delightfully heavenly – just sitting with my parents and enjoying a movie on Netflix. And digging into the most delicious food on earth. And I am glad I got the opportunity to do this ample number of times before I left to forge my own path.
  • Getting the COVID-19 Vaccine: After a very long wait I was finally able to get both the shots of Covaxin before leaving India.
  • Making the leap! Moving to Austin has been a challenging choice which tested me mentally and emotionally on occasions. Starting a new phase of my journey on my own has been a great learning experience. There have been ups and downs and everything in between. I have newfound appreciation for the previous phase of my life – I realize that I had taken a lot of comforts for granted
  • An amazing support system: Be it family or friends, it is a massive flex to have someone you can lean on, and people who are always there for you no matter what happens. I can never be grateful enough for this.
  • Meeting new people and making new friends: Starting from scratch has its benefits (and challenges).
  • Perseids and the Milky Way: Getting to see the Milky Way and the Perseids meteor shower at Pedernales State Park and at Kickapoo Cavern State Park was the best part of the summer.
  • Learning to manage things on my own: Living away from family for the first time in forever has helped me gain valuable skills – I like being independent!
  • Working with people from diverse backgrounds: The MSBA program at McCombs is a melting pot of people from diverse backgrounds. Working with them on challenging projects has been an experience of a lifetime.
  • My Neighbours and batchmates: I can’t be grateful enough for these folks – from working on assignments together to partying and cooking and helping each other out – I couldn’t have imagined a better bunch of people by my side
  • Cooking: I honestly considered it a chore back home, but I realize now that cooking is one of the most therapeutic things possible. I not only enjoy experimenting with different dishes, but also enjoy pampering myself with tasty food 😀
  • Becoming a healthier version of me: Eating better and going for walks helped me get rid of the pandemic fat. Walking for 6-8km everyday has now become a routine irrespective of the weather – I love them endorphins!
  • Ravi Anna and Bharathi Di: For the evening chats and the pep talks – student life abroad is hard, and having family here definitely helps.
  • Satish Uncle and Sujatha Aunty: For being there for me every moment of the way. I couldn’t have imagined a better way to spend my winter break than with them.

Leave a comment